Yoga’s 7 Powerful Chakra Awakening Techniques


There’s a good possibility you’ve heard about chakras and their function in the energy flow within your body if you’ve ever attended an exercise class, a meditation class, or even participated in an energy healing session like reiki or viewed internet videos about such topics.

You may also have discovered how important it is for you to keep your chakras open or unblocked.

What is a chakra

The word “chakra” refers to a “disc,” also called a “wheel,” in Sanskrit, and it refers to the energy centres in your body.

For them to perform at their best You need to keep your chakras open or in balance. You could have emotional or physical symptoms linked to a particular chakra if they get blocked.

Your spine has seven main chakras, which are all placed there. They start at the bottom of your spine or base of it, and they go all the way to the top of your head. Others, on the other hand, believe that your body contains at least that many chakras.

History of chakras

The popularity of yoga and New Age beliefs in general has led to an increase in public awareness of chakras. They are a complex, old form of energy that have their roots in India. The ancient sacred scriptures known as the Vedas, which date between 1200 and 1,000 BC and contain spiritual knowledge, are where they originally emerged.

The seven principal of 7 Main chakras?

Our bodies’ energy centres are known as the chakra system. There are seven primary chakras, and each one is situated at a specific point along your spine.

What are 7 chakras

Root chakra

It is located at the base of the spine and is also referred to as the root chakra or Muladhara. The root chakra is where your sense of security and stability comes from.

Sacral chakra

Under the belly button is where the sacral chakra, also called Svadhisthana, is situated. Your sexual and creative energy comes from it. It also has an impact on how you perceive both your own and other people’s feelings.

Solar plexus chakra

Your stomach is home to the Manipura chakra, or solar plexus chakra. It serves as a source of assurance and self-worth and it fosters your sense of self-assurance.

Heart chakra

Your heart, which is in the centre of your chest, is near to the heart chakra, also known as Anahata. It shouldn’t be a surprise that this chakra is related to our ability to love and care for others.

The throat chakra

The throat chakra, sometimes referred to as Vishuddha, is situated inside the throat. The chakra is connected to verbal communication skills.

Third eye chakra

The third eye chakra, also known as Ajna, is situated in this area. It is thought to be the cause of having a strong gut instinct. The ability to perceive is controlled by the third eye. It also has imagination attached to it.

Crown chakra

The Sahasrara chakra, commonly known as the crown chakra, is located at the top of your head. Your head’s crown chakra, also known as Sahasrara, is there. Your spiritual ties to other people, the rest of the world, and yourself are known as sahasrara. It affects your life’s purpose as well.

How do you unblock the chakra?

According to Malaspina, the greatest technique to attain a chakra’s balance is to obtain alignment in your body through:

  • yoga positions
  • breathing exercises that promote energy circulation
  • mental clarity through meditation.

Yoga poses for each chakra can help you fine-tune your energy. Here are some yoga positions that can help you open up your body’s seven chakras.

Root chakra

The foundation chakra, which is housed in the root, represents the physical base of your body. Based on Terranes, Tree Position or any other balancing pose, such the Mountain or Warrior, can help you develop a stronger connection to your body’s base.

Sacral chakra

The sacral chakra, which is also the seat of our creativity and sensuality, is related to our reproductive system.

Terrones offers postures that will strengthen your pelvic floor, which is an excellent example of this and where the sacral chakra is located. Pose variations including Pigeon Pose and Lizard Pose, as well as bridge Pose, are excellent for expanding the hips fully.

Solar plexus chakra

The solar plexus chakra, which is found in your heart, is centred on your inner fire. Because of this, Terrones suggests that core-strengthening poses like the Triangle and Boat are great for energising your abs and promoting greater balance in this chakra.

Heart chakra

According to Terrones, the heart chakra unifies the lower and higher chakras. It illustrates our capacity to widen our hearts to deeper relationships with others, she said.

She recommends movements that open the heart, such the camel pose or the wheel, to clear the chakra in this location. In order to widen your shoulders, chest, and arms so you may be more accessible to other people, she also recommends the cow face stance or the Humble Warrior pose.

The throat chakra

The throat chakra is thought to be the hub of communication. According to Terrones, the postures Plow and Fish are excellent for opening the neck chakra. Both can aid in opening the throat chakra, which is located at the front and rear of the neck.

Third eye chakra

Your ability to open up new possibilities and create a completely new world in your life is controlled by your third eye chakra. Terrones proposes positions that emphasise the relationship between your upper and lower bodies.

The Forward Fold and the Folded Eagle pose are excellent for the third eye, according to Terrones.

We can manifest a dream into a tangible reality by connecting our higher selves, represented by our upper bodies, with our more rooted portions, our legs, in these poses.

Crown chakra

Your connection to your spiritual self is controlled by your head chakra. The reason Terrones advises Savasana, or Corpse Pose, which comes after every yoga practise.

In conclusion

Chakras are different energy centres found all over your body. They are linked to certain internal organs and nerve bundles.

From the base of your spine to the top of your head, there are seven primary chakras. If one of these energy centres is blocked, you might experience emotional or physical symptoms that are related to that chakra. If you’re interested in learning how yoga might help you awaken your chakras, enroll in the meditation yoga teacher training programme.

Leave a Comment